CONViVIUM

THE ART OF ITALIAN DINING

Riflessioni

When i was growing up, my mom always told me to do what i had passion for, to never let money dictate my decisions. 

5 years old

 

I never had “pushy parents.” They never told me what sport to do, when to do it, and for how long. They never expected me to keep playing piano for my whole life. They were happy when i switched to violin. Less happy when, after convincing them to buy the best violin available, i decided, only three weeks into it, to quit.

We sold it and I went back to playing piano.

They gave me the liberty and freedom to choose at my own rhythm, to do what I wanted to do and not, like many other times happens, what THEY wanted for me. 

So when the time came to choose what school to go to i had no doubts. I knew deeply in my heart food and, even more importantly, the conviviality of being all around the same table was something i needed to pursue. 

No questions about money. No questions about the job market. Only passion dictated my decision.

Some time ago, during an interview, a journalist asked me how to find the passion I was talking to her about.

“You need to let pleasure control your life and not your life control pleasure,” I answered her.

“You need to value your time, to understand your choices are directly link to a specific quality of life. I know that everything I do, I do it because I LOVE doing it,” I kept saying to her. “I LOVE making food as much as eating it; I LOVE sitting and enjoying a good conversation, sipping some wine as much as making that happen for my clients. I LOVE creating memories as much as remembering them.”

“..but most of all I LOVE being scared, because that is exact moment where you have the possibility to grow, to create something special, to understand the value of life. That’s not the money you have, the car you drive or the clothes you wear. That’s the passion you have for life and for what you do.”

I left the interview a little bit surprised of what I had just told her. I was trying to understand how and why I develop this way of seeing things.

Now, if i am doing what i am doing, if i truly understood my dedication, if i found a way to built my life around the love for something rather than the money i get for it, well…i own it to Mamma e Papa’

Parents should be parents and not salesmen. 

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.”

Confucius

One comment on “Riflessioni

  1. kd
    June 18, 2010

    What a beautifully written post! I agree with you completely regarding fear… Fear lights the flames of inspiration & determination–and then you cannot be stopped.

    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2010 by in life, passion, reflections and tagged , , , , , , , .
